FAQ on Proposition 64 and Question 2:
What you need to know about the legalization of marijuana use in California and Nevada when you visit ski resorts in both states.
What did these initiatives do?
Both initiatives make it lawful for individuals 21 years of age or older to consume marijuana in a private home or authorized business location.
Does the passing of these initiatives mean you can possess or consume marijuana at California and Nevada ski resorts?
, for several reasons.
- Most ski resorts in California and Nevada are located on U.S. Forest Service land. The federal government regulates drugs through the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. § 811), which prohibits the possession and use of marijuana on federal land. Therefore, possession or use of marijuana at ski resorts on federal land (or any federal land) is against the law. Violators are subject to a minimum $1,000 fine and/or up to one year in prison (21 U.S.C. § 844). Repeat violators face stiffer penalties.
- Despite the new laws, it remains illegal to consume marijuana in all public places in California and Nevada. Every ski resort in both states is a “public place,” and therefore consuming marijuana is not permitted, even in currently designated smoking areas. This includes every location at a ski resort, including all facilities, trails, off piste areas, chairlifts, gondolas, lift lines, and parking lots.
- Marijuana impairs your senses. Skiing, snowboarding, and other recreational activities at ski resorts are athletic activities that require dexterity, skill, and awareness. Participating in these activities while impaired is neither safe for you nor those enjoying the activities with you.
Do all ski resorts have specific policies about using marijuana?
Yes. Please check each resort’s website or ask resort personnel if you have any questions. In short, do not possess or use marijuana illegally at any California or Nevada ski resorts or you will be subject to ejection, arrest, and/or prosecution.
At Sierra, we offer our best deals in threes! From lift tickets, lessons, rentals, day care and more - we've got you covered! 3-PAKs are good for one person for any three days this season. It's just the ticket for your ski holiday vacation plans.
Whether you're learning, need a refresher or if you’re confident in your current abilities, maybe consider expanding your horizons + take a lesson in something you haven’t tried. (If you ski, try snowboarding. If you snowboard, try skiing.) This special Learn to Ski/Ride Day event is only $79! Hurry, space is limited!